I <3 HushPuppies.

It’s true.

[If anyone wonders if I really AM married and if Joshiepoo Hunter exists, I will say that’s a relevant question that we should address soon.]

So, we’ve been mentally packing now for weeks and weeks. We have made quasi-final decisions about the luggage we’ll take, day bags, kitchen stuff (or no), acquired weaponry of sorts, and on and on. For both of us, one of the biggest quandaries has been, “What about work/dress shoes?” Josh could be in an engineering office (doubtful, but possible), in a classroom or something, out in the dirt and mud (“the field”), or any combination. How do we find a work shoe for all that, one that looks nice enough to get through training, that Josh doesn’t hate, and that will protect him on a job-site? Well, the fact is that we found the absolute perfect shoe–the Merrell Wrap Traveler Gore-Tex. Sadly, we can’t find it ANYwhere in a size 13, for less than $100, and we’re not willing to pay that. Thus, Josh decided on another Merrell shoe, one a little more casual and less hard-core, that was WAY cheaper and should get the job done. If he needs something else, then I guess we’ll get him something else in Jamaica.

I ordered Merrell MaryJanes and then really didn’t like them when they arrived. Now, they’re on Craigslist.com.  Same thing with the Merrell Sundials (sandals)…they are nice-looking, but something wasn’t comfortable.  After that, I got a little frustrated and decided to start looking around at actual stores (instead of online shopping).  I happened upon this store that I normally wouldn’t spend much time in and wouldn’t you know!  Here was a treasure trove right under my Nashville nose.  Great selections of all the nice brands from the websites-Clarks, Merrells, Dansko, etc.  They were all still way pricey, so I headed toward the back: clearance.  I walked out of there with two pairs of very comfortable, nice-looking work/dress shoes (one black and one brown), for less than one pair from any of those brands.  I’m still REELING from the experience…I learned so much in that instant, with a majority of the learning feeling similar to relief.  Ahhhh.  So yeah.  Hush Puppies, ladies. Look it up.  I can’t speak for their men’s line, but dude was I impressed with the women’s shoes.  I could’ve gotten like 2 or 3 more pairs and it would’ve been a great investment!  I’m wearing the black ones at work today and, although they are a tad roomy, I have no discomfort and they look great.  I’ll fix the roominess too…2 pairs for $70. woohoo.

Now that we’re almost done with the packing trials and tribs, I can start making big, distinct piles with all our stuff: yard sale, store, sell, give.  The “sell” pile includes our two cars and a handful of ramshackle furniture pieces.  I need to pack up the “store” stuff, hopefully in a way that’s not a nightmare to get back into if/when needed.  That’s tough to do when you’re still living in your apt and using most of the stuff…I’m sure we’ll figure it out.  Inevitably, it’ll all converge that last week, which is annoying but alright. ::breathe::

Anyway, I’m excited to feel like we’re making headway and making good decisions for what to bring.  I can’t overstate what a big help all the current Jah-lunteers have been!  Occasionally I do get super wound-up over our “to-do” spreadsheet and pre-missing our cats, friends, and family.  It’s important that, in those times, I remember the journey of even getting this far…and tell myself, “Are you freakin kidding me, Jess? You guys will be living in Jamaica…that’ll be life as usual. Just calm down. Thank God you’re not in control.”

Who wants fun facts about Jamaica? Oh come on.

  • Apart from the United States, Jamaica has won the most world and Olympic medals.
  • Jamaica has more multiple (two or more) live births than anywhere else in the world.
  • Jamaica was the first tropical country to enter the IOC Winter Olympics. The bobsled team’s efforts inspired the film ‘Cool Runnings’.  “Jamaica, we have a bobsled team”
  • Jamaica is known to have the most churches per square mile than any other country.

That’s good for now. :)

3 Responses

  1. Jesse i had the EXACT same experience with shoes!! LOL! i also bought hush puppies on clearance at the back of a store i would normally never go into. right on!

  2. Is this a particular store to be aware of? As long as you don’t say SAS, I’m game.

  3. “acquired weaponry of sorts”

    Do tell more….

Leave a Reply

