• the photos


  • Josh Hunter's Facebook profile

Time Never Passes Here Because It’s Always 80°F

So, not much new here. I think. I cannot believe it’s December. I’ve been pretty depressed the last month or so. In general I’ve just felt pointless and insignificant (with regard to my job here) and it’s been raining so much we haven’t been outside much. So yeah, not a great combo. But I think I’m done with it, so yeah… I’m done with it.

Here’s the waterfall I fell at (taken with the fisheye, meaning I’m really close. see the person in the bottom right?):

waterfall

The Sandcastle Hotel we stayed at for Early Service Training:

sandcastle-resort-ochi

Been listening to some new stuff recently. On my first first listen through I did not think I’d be saying this a week later, but I really dig the new Kanye West album, 808s & Heartbreak. It’s such a departure from his last 3 albums that it really threw my ears for a loop. It’s got a lot less flash than Graduation, but you feel like there’s more there. Feels like a lot of soul went into it (honestly, it’s kind of a sad album (ie Street Lights)). At first the whole “auto-tune” voice really turned me off because he uses it over the entire album. But after a run through you kind of forget about it as it’s just a theme over the whole thing. Plus he makes up for it by not using one friggin high-hat in the percussion (I HATE the standard hip-hop percussion lineup. It infuriates me and my treble sensitive ears). In fact, I love his percussive choices on this album (much more natural than expected). I highly recommend giving it a listen if you haven’t already. I thought these reviews really helped sum up my thoughts…

The Onion (A.V. Club)
Heartbreak is a bittersweet sleeper that hovers somewhere between an interesting failure and a secret success. It seems destined to be the weird little orphan that fans single out as a favorite.

Paste Magazine
A hot mess of an album that’s simultaneously the most indulgent and most disciplined record he’s ever made.

Dot Music
It might not turn out to be his biggest album, but 808s & Heartbreak could well be his masterpiece.

Another one I’m impressed with is Coldplay‘s EP, Prospekt’s March. It’s an extension of Viva la Vida but seemed more focused (maybe the EP format helped). Also maybe it helped that when I listened to it I was laying in a hammock on the beach, but I really felt like this showed off Coldplay‘s musical talent. Obviously they’re talented, but this was the first time I was actually impressed with their work; like they’d just showed me what they were truly capable of.

And to wrap it up, here’s a “it’s new to me” song I just came across the other day. Some of the lyrics are gross, but no more than your average rap song. It’s got a fun beat.

3 Responses

  1. my fav. song off the new Kanye album is “Heartless” The beat sounds really sweet on my 12″ when I’m driving… (did i mention i got a new 1,000w amp with the control nobs for the frequency so you can set how high you want the cutoff to be? it’s sweet….)

    and i was really thinking about sending the new Kanye album but i guess you have access to that already… soo….

  2. I think I’ve sent some stuff you’ve already seen and heard….aw dang….

  3. no worries guys. i definitely appreciate the thought. i’m actually able to get most music (because it’s not that large of a file so it downloads fast). however, i don’t always hear ABOUT new music so if you find something you think is good and i havent heard it you can definitely send that. Or if you dont want to mail a CD you always upload it somewhere like 4shared.com or megaupload.

    it’s movies that give me a hard time because they take days to download (so it takes me two weeks or so).

    but we look forward to receiving any mail, so dont fret.

Leave a Reply

