• the photos


  • Josh Hunter's Facebook profile

Peace Corps IMDB

Here are a few recommendations for your Netflix queue:

No Impact Man–An environmentalist writer embarks on a family experiment (with his wife and daughter) to attempt no-waste living for one year.

Good Hair–Chris Rock explores what it means in the African-American community to have “good hair” and how this will impact the lives of his young daughters.

Food Inc.–Describes the modern way American food is grown and processed.

Helvetica–A documentary about typography, graphic design, and global visual culture.

Flow: For the Love of Water-‘Flow’ confronts the disturbing reality that our crucial resource is dwindling and greed just may be the cause.

5 Responses

  1. India Arie says “i am not my hair”. love that song. and, like the chris rock documentary surely does, it opened my eyes to the implications of your hair in the African American community. something i never would have thought of otherwise!

  2. Hahaha, I just watched Good Hair a few days ago, and I’m definitely bringing my copy to Jamaica. I thought that it would be just be funny, but it was actually pretty informative. I didn’t realize the chemical relaxers were that damaging; I relax my hair every six weeks. Are relaxers common in Jamaica?

  3. Hi Benita-I learned a lot. I had no idea that Atlanta hosts that hair show every year and I had no idea how costly all the weaves are! I can’t speak to the whole of Jamaica. Our community is rural and it’s quite popular to have either corn rows or braids with natural hair. Some people have weaves and relaxers, but I think these ladies are the exception. I see lots of sister locks and simple styles in our closest main town of Port Antonio. Do you think you’ll continue getting relaxers while you’re here?

  4. I’m actually not sure yet. Like the little girls in the movie, I’ve been getting relaxers since I was like 6 or 7 years old, so it would be a hard transition to go natural. I may bring one relaxer kit with me to get through the first couple of months, while I look for a natural style that I’m comfortable with. It would be nice to no longer be a slave to the perm though lol.

  5. Food Inc. was GREAT. I loved how it wasn’t a “Don’t eat this” type of movie. It was just simply asking you to think about where your food comes from. I was surprised at the lengths some of those food companies will go to take down anyone that doesn’t agree with them. I’ve made an effort to show Food Inc. to family and others. I haven’t seen the other movies. We had Good Hair but I just never got around to seeing it. Helevtica is on my netflix queue. When I get back from Florida, I’ll give it watch.

Leave a Reply

